Microwave Biscuit

Mail’s Here

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on November 5, 2007

I’m having an issue with my mail client and I can’t seem to find a good resolution. I use Google’s GMail which recently introduced IMAP capabilities. I have been using POP with Claws Mail for a while but when I switched my account to IMAP in Claws it really has started behaving badly. First off, I can’t actually send mail. Check that, I can send it but somehow it errors out saying that it didn’t send but it actually does send. If I look in my sent messages folder I will see the message I just sent but the sending process takes a while and reports an error. Secondly, Claws Mail seems to be taking an inordinate amount of memory on my system now that I’m using IMAP. Lastly it just seems to crash once in a while.

Last night I thought I’d mess around with a couple of other mail clients to see if anything worked nicely. I tried Evolution first. Honestly Evolution is almost as bloated as Outlook. I also don’t like the way it handles my local mail. For some reason in Evolution I can’t actually delete local mail. It moves it to the trash but never deletes it. I can say “Empty Trash” but it won’t. Next… I grabbed Thunderbird. Loaded up my IMAP account and it works really nicely. I haven’t used Thunderbird in a while and I was pleasantly surprised at how nice it looks. I thought I might have a winner until I tried to add a local mail account. After some web searching, I found out that Thunderbird doesn’t support maildir/mbox so I’d have to reconfigure my local account to use IMAP. That’s not a project I was willing to take on… Moving along – how about KMail? I have used Gnome now for so long that KDE apps don’t appeal to me anymore. Too may configurations to work on in different menus.

I was reminded about why I switched to Claws mail in the first place – it’s fast, works, etc. If only it behaved a little nicer with IMAP I’d be content. Any thoughts on a mail client that works well with IMAP and Local maildir/mbox?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jake said, on November 5, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    Unfortuantely, from what I’ve heard, G-Mail’s IMAP appears to be slow across many different e-mail clients if you have a large inbox. I gave up with it on KMail.

  2. Colin said, on November 8, 2007 at 6:43 am

    Hi,

    The Gmail IMAP problems are due to Google’s not following the IMAP standard. See there for example:
    http://www.colino.net/wordpress-1.5/archives/2007/10/25/dear-gmail/
    http://farragut.flameeyes.is-a-geek.org/articles/2007/10/27/claws-and-imap (third comment)

    The libetpan (our IMAP library) developer has made a workaround to “fix” this shortcoming of GMail, as we don’t trust them to do the right thing.


Leave a Reply

