Microwave Biscuit

The Good, The Bad and The XBOX 360

Posted in Technology by microwavebiscuit on November 4, 2007

To start this post I’ll recap my gaming console purchases:

Many years ago I bought a PlayStation 1 (original? old skool?) and it worked forever. In fact, it still works. When the PS2 came out I upgraded and it worked and worked (and still works). When it came time to purchase a 3rd generation console I thought long and hard about it. The PS3 is awfully cool and sexy and whatnot but way spendy. It also didn’t come out on time. So, I ended up buying a XBOX 360.

I have had it for a little less than a year. Last week I got the dreaded red ring of death when trying to play a game. I looked online and went through the various steps in determining that the system is borked. So, today I called India (XBOX support) and they walked me through the troubleshooting steps again (after first going through the troubleshooting steps with a computer voice prompt thingy) and they agree that it is in fact fubard.

Being that my XBOX is under warranty they are sending me a pre-paid box to ship it back to them in and they will repair it. Expected turn around time is 3-4 weeks. So, I guess I’m relatively pleased that my XBOX isn’t a pricey door-stop and that it will be fixed. On the flip side, it shouldn’t be broken in the first place. I wonder how well the PS3 is doing in terms of longevity. If it’s anything like my PS1, PS2, etc. I’m sure it will run forever.

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bloggingzoom.com said, on November 4, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    XBOX 360 Hell

    This is one of those Xbox 360 stories that just makes your hair stand up. The Xbox 360 is no doubt one of the coolest games out there but when it comes to reliability there is no doubt the Xbox360 has it’s issues.

    This article goes through one of the…

  2. Zach said, on August 24, 2008 at 10:21 am

    this same thing just happened to me not twenty minutes ago. i shed a tear for your story and i feel your pain.


Leave a Reply

