Microwave Biscuit

More on VNC/SSH

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on September 5, 2007

First off – big thanks to all who have left comments on how to configure it. Via a combination of various approaches I seem to have it set up ok now. I ran into a couple of issues which were as follows:

  1. I had the DenyHosts package installed to prevent malicious attacks. In attempting to configure VNC/SSH it determined that I was in fact a hacker (or hax0r). Every time I attempted to connect it kept re-adding me to the hosts.deny file. I can’t figure out how to “reset” DenyHosts to allow me in. For now I have disabled it.
  2. Some of the tutorials I had been following were geared towards X forwarding which is different than what I had in mind. It’s kind of interesting in that you can create a new X session that you connect to and launch apps from. Nice feature but what I really wanted was the remote access provided by “Remote Desktop”.
  3. I have not yet setup the port forwarding on the router I have which means I can only access the machine from within my network. I plan on keeping it that way for a bit until I feel a bit more “secure” in my solution.

So the ultimate solution was pretty much what Stefano left in the comments:

It’s pretty straightforward, really.

Setup:
* Make sure that all the users on your computer have secure passwords (even better, use SSH keys rather than passwords)
* Install ssh_server
* Make sure that port 22/TCP is forwarded in, from your router.
* Set up some kind of dyndns, so you know your home IP address.
* Turn on “Remote Administration”, and set a password for it, rather than requesting permission.

On the road:
* Use putty to ssh into home, before connecting go to port forwards, and add a local forward from 5901 to 127.0.0.1:5900
* Then connect
* Then you can use a VNC client to connect to “localhost:1″

Although the part about “use ssh keys” is a mystery to me. I know I’ve read about doing that before somewhere but for the life of me I can’t remember how.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Derek Buranen said, on September 5, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    Though not free (as in speech) but free (as in beer), http://www.nomachine.com is the greatest solution I’ve found.

    1.) It has debs to install.
    2.) It uses ssh port 22 and is encrypted. You have ssh access? easy to add nomachine.
    3.) there’s a windows and linux client and server. (maybe OS X)
    4.) You can connect to the current session (shadow) or create a new X session so you don’t interrupt a user currently logged in.

  2. Trey said, on September 5, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    SSH keys:

    http://pkeck.myweb.uga.edu/ssh/


Leave a Reply

