Microwave Biscuit

Deluge Bit torrent client

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on August 16, 2007

I have been using Azureus for a long while to satisfy my bittorrent needs but it just kills me how resource intensive it is (thanks Java). I have tried several other clients and found them all to be lacking in some of the functionality that I want. That being said, I recently read about Deluge and decided to give it a shot. I’ve been using it for a few days and here are my thoughts.

The good:

  • Uses half or less of the resources of Azureus
  • Supports RSS feed scanning and filters
  • Really easy to reseed previously downloaded torrents
  • Nice set of features and plugins available

The not so good:

  • It seems that I can’t easily “move” files that I’ve downloaded. Azureus has the ability to move downloads automatically or manually. Deluge can do it automatically, however I can’t seem to right click on something and move it to a different folder.
  • On the web site there is talk of a built in scheduler for dl/ul speeds but I can’t seem to find it. That’s something I use quite a bit with Azureus as I don’t mind using a ton of bandwidth while I’m sleeping but during the day I share my bandwidth with several others and I like the ability to set max speeds for different parts of the day.
  • It keeps all torrents in the same area. Azureus has a downloading and uploading area so that you can at a glance see what is seeding versus what is downloading.

My complaints aren’t many and I think I may continue to use Deluge especially given its much lower memory footprint. There are pre-built debs available (as well as RPM’s, sources, etc) including a AMD 64-Bit deb!

Link: http://deluge-torrent.org/

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tom Dryer said, on August 17, 2007 at 12:55 am

    It looks to me that the scheduler plugin has not been updated to work with the newest versions of Deluge.
    http://dev.deluge-torrent.org/ticket/35

    I have also switched to Deluge, from uTorrent (in Wine). Even though Deluge is written in Python I love the speed.
    http://tomdryer.com/blog/index.php/2007/08/02/check-out-the-latest-deluge/

  2. gouki said, on August 17, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    We have an interview with the author of the software at UbuntuBackstage:

    http://ubuntubackstage.org/?q=node/19

    Just thought I’d share 🙂

  3. HE said, on August 18, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    If y’all want speed and low memory usage, rtorrent is what you want.

  4. Mustinet said, on April 8, 2009 at 7:36 am

    I like deluge, but i’m don’t reseed previously downloaded torrents with deluge ?
    how to reseed my recently downloaded torrents with deluge.?


Leave a Reply

