Microwave Biscuit

Issue with GAlternatives + Geany

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on June 16, 2007

Over the last several weeks many folks have posted about using the text editor Geany. I tried it out myself and I love it. It has finally beaten Kate for me. I’ve used Kate for a very long time but my new love is Geany. More info is available at the Geany site: http://geany.uvena.de/ and it is available in the Ubuntu Repositories. I like it so much I thought I’d try and make it my “default” text editor in Gnome. A very long time ago I installed GAlternatives which is supposed to allow you to change how the system behaves and what programs are used by default. So, I added in Geany under “gnome-text-editor” and selected it as the default. However, if I go to a text file in a directory and right-click on it choosing “open with text editor” it loads up with Gedit. What’s the deal with that? Do I need to do something different?

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dee said, on June 16, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    GAlternative is just a front-end for update-alternatives. What you have done is to create a link in /etc/alternatives to geany.

    If you want to open files in Nautilus you must rightclick on a file one text time, select Properties -> Open With, select Geany in the list (or add it) and save. Now you Geany will be used if you click on some text file.

    Greetings, Dee


Leave a Reply

