Microwave Biscuit

Install Pidgin in Ubuntu

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on June 9, 2007

There’s a nice tutorial on installing Pidgin from sources here: jhcore.com » Install Pidgin in Ubuntu

The only thing I’d do different is to use checkinstall to create a deb file so that it’s easier to manage new versions, etc. However this is mentioned in a comment by another person. I did go through this tutorial to make sure I wasn’t missing anything in my previous attempts at configuring Pidgin and I guess I didn’t have a couple of the dependencies satisfied required to make Google Talk work. However, even after install all of the recommended dependencies I still can’t manage to connect to Google Talk. I get an “authorization failed” message now. It also seems to me that the instructions for configuring Pidgin have changed on the Google pages.

I have continued to use Kopete which connects easily (for me) to the 3 services I use (AIM, Yahoo, Google). It also has a nice set of built-in sounds to use for new conversations as well as other features that make me want to continue to use it. The only feature that Pidgin has that I’m dying to try is “psychic mode” but I can live without that for now.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. John Paulett said, on June 10, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    I was able to get Google Talk to work after I installed libnss-dev libnspr-dev, and reinstalled. If you try it again and still have problems, let me know and I will look into it more.

    I tried making a package with checkinstall today (I have to admit that it is my first time using it), but I keep on running into an issue when trying to install the deb. If I can get it to work, I will update my guide–since I agree with you that checkinstall is preferable.

  2. huygens said, on June 16, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    I was just writing an article on the topic 🙂
    As my purpose is different (using Bonjour) and is not covered by the pointed article, I’m still going to finish it (but after a good night sleep 😉 )
    Anyway, you will be interested to pay me a visit after, as I have slightly different steps for the compilation and Google Talk, Yahoo! chat and Bonjour are perfectly working. I do not know for the other protocols though, as I do not use them…

  3. huygens-25 said, on June 17, 2007 at 8:01 am

    If you’re still interested, I have written my article: http://www.berthon.eu/ice_and_fire/?p=100
    You should have all necessary dependency to connect to Google Talk. I have tested it and it works.
    Just follow Google instructions in case you need them: http://www.google.com/support/talk/bin/answer.py?answer=24073 and in the advanced tab, type “talk.google.com” for the “Connect server”.
    That’s it.


Leave a Reply

