Microwave Biscuit

Hardware Woe Updates

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on June 5, 2007

I’ve been posting a bunch about issues I’ve been having with various hardware. Time for some updates.

First, my 2nd SATA drive that “disappeared” apparently has really gone bad. I read a bit more on the web and there was a suggestion to do a cold boot which I did. I haven’t done that in a long time, figuring that reboots would be sufficient to clear out anything that was hung up but after shutting down the PC and restarting, the drive made all kinds of clicking noises which can’t be good. It’s also no longer detected in the bios so I’m guessing the drive has really gone away. Quite sad as it’s not even a year old but I’m glad that it’s not related to my install of Ubuntu.

Second, X and nVidia – I have no idea why, but when I downloaded the last round of updates, it didn’t get the right libraries required to run the nVidia kernel modules. When I went into the restricted drivers program I enabled it, rebooted and now have nVidia running. I had to modify my xorg.conf to re-enable a few things but I’m satisfied with the way everything is working now.

Lastly, my camera. Still doesn’t work. I thought maybe the cold boot would resolve that too but it didn’t happen.

Leave a Reply

