Microwave Biscuit

Instant Messenger Clients

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on June 3, 2007

I primarily use IM as a means of keeping in touch with work people. Due to some circumstances, I’m now using IM on my Ubuntu PC which means I need to find the “right” IM client. So, here’s my experiences:

1. Gaim – I fired up Gaim as it is presently installed on my machine. I set up my Yahoo and AIM accounts without issue. Tried to set up my Google Talk account but had no luck. I went to the Google Talk help page and there weren’t instructions for Gaim. I followed the instructions for other clients but couldn’t make it work.

2. Pidgin – Pidgin is the successor to Gaim and as such there were instructions for setting up Google Talk. Unfortunately Pidgin isn’t available in the repositories yet so I had to download sources and build it. After building it and installing it it read my Gaim account list and seemed to work right away. However, no Google Talk.

3. Kopete – I had to install it but it was in the repos so I just got it working immediately. Also – no Google Talk!!! However, Kopete provided me with a reasonable error message and it turns out I was missing a package for SSL support (qca-tls). Once I installed that package I get Google Talk!

I would guess that the others may also work now that I have installed this package but being that Kopete was the one to identify the problem and solution I’m going to use it for a bit.

I seem to remember a lot of posts about Pidgin when it was released and a lot of folks seemed really excited about it. I may give it another go later on if Kopete annoys me in some way.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Will Farrington said, on June 4, 2007 at 12:12 am

    Setting up Pidgin/Gaim with GTalk is simple as pie! šŸ™‚

    http://www.google.com/support/talk/bin/answer.py?answer=24073

    Also note, if it doesn’t connect, you’ll want to click advanced tab and set the connect server to ‘talk.google.com’

    Enjoy!

  2. Derek Buranen said, on June 4, 2007 at 12:28 am

    Here’s a .deb of Pidgin 2.01. I’ve used it on 3 PCs now.

    http://www.getdeb.net/release.php?id=955

    Hope this helps. I use it with Google Talk.

  3. microwavebiscuit said, on June 5, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Will: I did refer to that documentation but I couldn’t get it to work. When I compiled it from sources I don’t think I had all of the dependencies met for SSL.

    Derek: I appreciate it but I run 64-Bit so I don’t think your deb will work for me.

  4. Jeremy Teale said, on June 6, 2007 at 8:38 am

    I use gajim with GTalk. Works great, but it’s a Jabber-only client.

  5. asdf said, on May 27, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    try emesene


Leave a Reply

