Microwave Biscuit

Getting a bit frustrated

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on May 28, 2007

I’m now getting a little bit frustrated with my hardware difficulties. Probably not enough to take any major steps, but I’m hoping this all gets sorted out quickly. Today I applied an update which was a new kernel version. I was hoping that resolved some of my other issues but it has not and in fact has made a couple of things worse. After I applied the update and restarted my X server refused to start. Of course I was able to figure out why and correct it – my nVidia drivers no longer match the kernel version so until new drivers are released I need to run the nv driver which doesn’t support a whole lot of anything. So, just to summarize, here are the items currently broken on my machine:

  1. Second SATA drive won’t come online
  2. Camera won’t connect
  3. X Server not configured for nVidia drivers

I’ve researched the first two pretty significantly including filing a bug report on number 2. So far no fixes that I’m aware of other than running an older kernel version.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. symbolik said, on May 28, 2007 at 6:37 pm

    I have had similar issues myself. Might be able to offer some help, but need to know the following:

    1. What kernel version did you start with?
    2. What kernel version did you try to upgrade to?
    3. What nvidia driver version are you trying?
    4. What video card (5xxx, 6xxx, 7xxx)?
    5. How are you updating kernel and driver – vanilla source and nvidia shell, or from distro repositories?

    I have an old nvidia 5200 AGP card that will not take anything higher than the 8776 driver version, and going from the 2.6.18 kernel to 2.6.19 or higher would only work when I installed the kernel update from my urpmi (Mandriva) repository (Cooker) – for each machine that had the older kernel.

    I use vanilla sources, and customize them a lot to reduce size and optize for my machines – and this boned me when I tried to upgrade, due to changes in the newer kernels. Things did not translate one-for-one. With the stock kernel from Mandriva, most options and modules are enabled (lots you do not need), and upgrading to that worked. Following that, I was able to go straight to a vanilla kernel, optimize it, and upgrade without problems.

    Due to xorg changes, the nvidia installer now puts files in the wrong directories. This can be fixed by first running “NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9755-pkg1.run –uninstall” (or whatever version you are using), followed by “NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-9755-pkg1.run –x-prefix=/usr –x-module-path=/usr/lib/xorg/modules” .

    Writeup here: http://symbolik.wordpress.com/2007/05/18/mandriva-upgrade-and-nvidia-linux-x86-10-9755/

    Sorry for the long post – you may have already tried some of these things. If not, though, hope this helps out.


Leave a Reply

