Microwave Biscuit

Quick Update on No Title Bar with Compiz

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on April 21, 2007

The Google helped me find this: No title bar – window manager problem – Page 2 – Ubuntu Forums

Which I then followed some instructions to modify my xorg.conf to add the following line:


Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"

In the device section of my video card. The whole section looks like this now:


Section "Device"
Identifier "GeForce FX 5500"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
VideoRam 256000
Option "UseFBDev" "true"
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
EndSection

Once I added that line and restarted X I got my title bars. I’m pretty sure that I had that line in my old xorg.conf prior to upgrade and it must have been replaced with a new conf file during the upgrade. Now I get all my title bars and such in Beryl and Compiz.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What is Ubuntu? said, on October 20, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    I had title bars, but I disabled them in ccsm just to see how it looks. Now I cannot find where the setting is? Do you know where the title bar toggle setting in ccsm is?

  2. JDOG said, on March 15, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    i tried this and it messed my system up and was starting at the command prompt. so i inserted my livecd and changed it back and then rebooted and then it was better again… phew!””

  3. JDOG said, on March 15, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    I still don’t have any titlebar on compiz though….. p4 3.0ghz, 1gig ram. geforceFX 5700 LE 256mb video

  4. Mike Slobogean said, on July 18, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    Thanks, that solved it! I’ve had that problem on and off for years, but maybe I can enjoy Compiz all the time now 🙂


Leave a Reply

