Microwave Biscuit

Holy Crap!

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on April 7, 2007

Slashdot reported that Asus website had been compromised with the recent Windows ani issue. Read more here: Slashdot | Asus.com Compromised With Exploit Code

The reason that I care is that in the current issue of Wired magazine there is an article about a cool new piece of hardware that is available from Asus. I went to their website yesterday to look into it but the website seemed all screwed up. Fortunately for me, I was browsing the site using FireFox on Ubuntu so I don’t believe I could have been affected by the exploit as it is specific to how Windows deals with cursors. Thankfully I didn’t have time to check it out on my work PC which runs Windows. I brought the article home to check it out and just happened to go there on my Ubuntu PC.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. DeviantDragon said, on April 11, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    Hehe, ain’t ASUS crappy? I really hate ASUS since all their hardware from about a year ago that I get to touch just malfunctions… A friend’s ASUS laptop has problems on Ubuntu and has already been RMA’ed twice in the last 6 months because of mainboard problems. My ASUS motherboard sound dislikes linux as much as I dislike using Windows (which is quite a bit). My ASUS WL-138G wireless card has about 1/3 of the Wifi coverage of my laptop, lacks Linux support, WPA doesn’t work although the card supports it, and refuses to connect to any network under Windows Vista. I’m not mentioning any further that motherboard that blew up right out of the box, or that one that burned me 2 AMD CPU’s because of a fried capacitor. Or even the Asus X700 that stopped functioning for no apparent reason.

    Can’t even wonder how ONLY Asus gear breaks up in front of me… Must be bad karma. The same bad karma that corrupted their website.


Leave a Reply

