Microwave Biscuit

Feisty Final

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on April 6, 2007

According to the project schedule https://wiki.ubuntu.com/FeistyReleaseSchedule Feisty is going to go final in just a couple of weeks. I guess the big question is, when will I go Feisty? I have installed several of the Herd CD versions in virtual machines and I’ve had pretty good luck with them. However, those were “testing” machines and I didn’t care if it broke something. On my “main” machine I have quite a lot of stuff that I care about. Of course before I upgrade I will backup stuff to make sure that everything is safe but my real concern is for my entire configuration. I really like the present “state” of my system and I worry about the consequences of upgrading. My primary concerns are:

  1. I already have the nVidia drivers installed and configured. How much effort will it take to re-do that after upgrade?
  2. Beryl – as has been announced, Beryl and Compiz are rejoining and it seems that Feisty has Compiz enabled. What happens to my Beryl install?
  3. How about the packages and software that I’ve installed that I’ve built from sources? Will I need to recompile and/or rebuild?

While I’m excited about the new release I’m definitely hesitant to upgrade on day 1.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Derek Buranen said, on April 6, 2007 at 10:57 am

    I’ll bite.

    1. If you installed nvidia-glx before, it will still work and will upgrade with the newest kernel. Unelss you have a Geforce4 that is. Geforce4 is not supported through nvidia-glx anymore, but by nvidia-glx-legacy

    2. Beryl will be fine. Add the repositories on http://wiki.ubuntu.com/BerylOnEdgy and beryl is still around until something actually develops from the merge

    3. Possibly. Depends on the libs that are dependent.

  2. Paul Bersch said, on April 6, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    As a supplement/correction to what Derek wrote:

    1. NVIDIA driver installation in Feisty is no longer the pain it was in Edgy. Feisty’s restricted modules include a version of the NVIDIA driver that supports the pixmap extensions you need for Beryl. There is also a GUI installation for the NVIDIA drivers through the new Restricted Driver tool. It installs the driver and changes your xorg.conf file to work with composite.

    2. The latest Beryl is in the official Feisty Universe repos. You won’t need to add unofficial repositories anymore. However, I suspect that a merged version of Beryl/Compiz will come out soon and mess everything up for everyone. đŸ™‚

    Remembering how badly the upgrades went from Dapper to Edgy, though, I’m doing fresh reinstalls on all of my machines. There’s enough user-generated cruft on my machines as it is, and Feisty is a good excuse for spring cleaning.


Leave a Reply

