Microwave Biscuit

Ark Linux

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on April 2, 2007

In a recent post I mentioned a site that offers a “distribution chooser” which matches your needs and wants to a distribution. The top couple of choices that were geared towards me were Debian, Ubuntu, and Kubuntu. It’s not a surprise to me that those were the top choices but another distribution was also suggested which I haven’t used which is Ark Linux. I went to the website and poked around a bit. There’s not a whole lot to the website but I downloaded a copy and attempted to install it. I grabbed the current version (2006.1) and attempted to set it up in a VM (using VMWare). It did not go well. The install hung up a couple of times so I tried to do the install with acpi=no which did appear to work. One cool thing is that while the install is running, you can play a game (or two) of Tetris. Nice little touch. Anyway, after install, I went to reboot and it just dies. There’s a very pleasant boot screen but I can’t get it to boot up. I’ve tried a number of different boot parameters but basically it gets freaked out somewhere during drive detection and mounting and throws a kernel panic message followed by just sitting there. Here’s a screenshot of the message output:

errorscreen

Now, I don’t want to be too overly critical of Ark Linux as installs under VMWare can be tricky, however, I have never had such a “severe” problem with a distribution under VMWare. I did not download the Live CD, I got the actual install CD. I may get the Live CD just to see what it’s like and if I have better luck with it.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bernhard Rosenkraenzer said, on April 18, 2007 at 7:10 am

    Some versions of vmware emulate some weirdo kind of SCSI harddisk by default. Tell it to use IDE and it’ll work.

    If you still run into problems, take a look at
    http://wiki.arklinux.org/index.php/User_Documentation#Installing_in_vmware

    which lists workarounds for all sorts of vmware-induced errors.


Leave a Reply

