Microwave Biscuit

LAMP Installation On Ubuntu

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 31, 2007

Via: LAMP Installation On Ubuntu · supriyadisw dot net

I have previously mentioned that something is wrong with my whole “LAMP” setup on this machine. I often have trouble with some PHP/MySQL stuff and I’m sure that it’s my own fault but it’s pretty annoying. For instance, tonight I downloaded a copy of WordPress to install locally as a test bed. When I went to install I got a message “your php installation is missing MySQL” or something like that. Oddly enough, PHPMySQL Admin works just fine. I also ran into trouble trying to get Torrentflux to work. So, this evening’s big project was to remedy the situation.

Due to various installs and such I found I had both PHP4 and PHP5 installed. I also have some remnants of Apache along side of Apache2. The only clean part of my installation was MySQL. However, in efforts to completely right this ship I uninstalled EVERYTHING. I did a complete removal of anything labeled with PHP, Apache, and MySQL. Then I went into my /etc/ directory as root (careful here – easy to break stuff) and cleaned up any remnants I could find of all products. Then I rebooted to ensure I hadn’t broken my system (I hadn’t). Now I had a roughly clean environment to work with. I then followed the tutorial listed in the link above. It’s a very basic tutorial but by following it I was able to get the required packages for a Lamp environment installed. After that, I installed WordPress locally and it worked just fine. I’m going to try and minimize the amount of extra libraries that I install relating to PHP and/or Apache in order to keep things in good shape.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Echo Nolan said, on April 1, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    To remove a package and delete all its configuration files use:
    apt-get remove –purge whatever
    This will save you the pain of having to search for config files. Apt keeps them around by default so removing and reinstalling works properly and retains the previous configuration.


Leave a comment