Microwave Biscuit

USB Knoppix 5.1.0 – Part 2

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 28, 2007

Last night I downloaded both of the files required to run USB Knoppix 5.1.0 and today I had a chance to install it and play. After following the tutorial on PenDriveLinux here: http://www.pendrivelinux.com/2007/01/01/usb-knoppix-510 which is really only 5 steps I had it working as advertised. I ran a quick format utility and then copied over the files from a zip archive. Then ran makeboot.exe per the instructions. Rebooted and went into my BIOS setup to change the boot order. After I did that, I inserted my pen drive and it booted right up into Knoppix. I have to do a little more playing around in it to figure out which disks are which (there are quite a few desktop shortcuts to drives some of which appear to be the same physical drive) so that I can create a persistent home directory on the memory stick that I can use over and over again.

Overall, it was super easy and it’s very cool to now have a complete linux distribution available to me off of my pen drive.

Leave a Reply

