Microwave Biscuit

Follow up on Woot! E-mail alerts

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 28, 2007

A few days ago I posted about using rss2email to get Woot! e-mail alerts. After several days of it running, I’m confident that it works great! Every night at about 12:01 PM I get an e-mail from rss2email with the latest Woot. After posting my prior item, I modified the crontab entry a bit. It used to be:

01 00 * * * r2e run

Now it’s:

00,01,02,03,04,05,10 00 * * * r2e run

One of the nice features of rss2email is that it keeps track of new feed items. I figured I could set the cron entry to run at 12:00, 12:01, 12:02, etc. and then finally at 12:10 just in case. My thinking was correct – I only get a single email and by running the cron job every minute from 12:00 to 12:05 I can make sure I catch the new Woot! even if it’s a minute late getting posted or if my PC clock is off by 30 seconds. I did have to do some further “training” of GMail to not think it was spam but after 2 days of it, the messages come through automatically now.

Leave a Reply

