Microwave Biscuit

Windows Annoyance

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 26, 2007

This happens to me on every Windows PC I ever use. In the Add/Remove dialog you get multiple versions of software like this:

AddRemove

Now, I know that if I were to select either version listed here FireFox would be gone and I’d end up with an orphan Add/Remove for one of them. I wouldn’t care if there actually was two different versions of FireFox on my machine that could me installed and/or removed independently. However, this is obviously not the case. During some upgrade process a duplicate entry was created here.

Ubuntu and Linux aren’t perfect with this sort of thing either but it’s more bothersome to me in Windows. While I’d love to flatten this machine and install Ubunut on it, it’s my work laptop and I have to run Windows on it.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Derek Buranen said, on March 26, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/myuninst.html

    That thing will remove the registry entries if you’d like it out of your list. Have fun. (you can edit the registry too, but I’m lazy and this thing works great)

    -Derek


Leave a Reply

