Microwave Biscuit

Local antitrust fight goes to D.C.

Posted in Politics, Technology by microwavebiscuit on March 25, 2007

This is why I shouldn’t read the Sunday paper – Local antitrust fight goes to D.C. | Dallas Morning News

I had yet to finish my coffee when I read this article. It got me all worked up. I think that no company should dictate minimum sell prices of their goods. Just the other night I went to the local CompUSA which is going out of business (apparently they are closing half of their stores) to see what great deals I might find. I ended up not buying anything but I was shocked to find that while everything was heavily discounted the Apple stuff was only 5% off which I’m sure is due to Apple’s insistence of minimum pricing. In all honesty, I probably wouldn’t buy anything Apple (unless there was a really sweet deal on one of those gigantic cinema monitors) but it just ticks me off that if I opened up a computer store and wanted to sell Apple products at 20% off I couldn’t.

Leave a Reply

