Microwave Biscuit

Formerly FUBARD Feisty Fixed!

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 23, 2007

There was a virtual machine that I had set up as an Ubuntu 6.06 machine a long time ago. In a different brand new virtual machine I installed one of the Feisty Herd CD’s and it went so well I thought I’d see what happened when I attempted to upgrade my 6.06 machine. Not being one to read directions or figure out the best way to do it, I just edited my sources.list changed it all to Feisty and dropped into a terminal. I typed sudo apt-get update and then sudo apt-get dist-upgrade. Well, turns out that may not have been the best choice….

I pretty much completely broke the machine. I had major issues with the X server and couldn’t get it to load for anything. I kept getting module version mismatch errors. As previously posted, I opened up a bug in launchpad and the general consensus was that I should try to re-update and see if it got fixed. Unfortunately, it never did. Every couple of days, I’d boot up the VM, run an update and see what happened. Each time it would download a handful of new packages, install them and then not start up the x server with the same set of messages.

Today I decided to go for broke. I went into recovery mode and when it finished booting I typed “apt-get remove xserver-xorg”. Scary stuff, I know, but what did I have to lose? It un-installed all of the xserver packages and then I rebooted. As you might imagine I got a whole bunch of issues but it eventually did boot into recovery mode. Then I did “apt-get install xserver-xorg” and it did so, then started an X session! Woohoo! Now the big test was a full reboot without going into recovery mode. I did that and it all works. I got a nice new Feisty desktop and everything is all well now.

I don’t know that I’d recommend to anyone to do the steps I did, however, I was determined to not give up on this VM. It would certainly be easy enough to just delete it – there wasn’t anything important on it – it was just a testing VM however I felt that I might be able to save it if I just kept at it. Today I got my reward.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brian said, on March 28, 2007 at 9:54 am

    I think you could’ve run ‘sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg’ and accomplished the same thing. That’s what I did last time I nuked my X config (fresh install of feisty over my edgy installation).


Leave a Reply

