Microwave Biscuit

More on Sylpheed-Claws and Claws-Mail

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 22, 2007

One of the developers of Claws-Mail posted the following comment to an earlier post on Sylpheed-Claws

Colin Says:
March 22nd, 2007 at 1:41 am
Hi,

In fact the multitude of versions is partly due to Debian’s slowness 🙂 It went this way:
-Sylpheed-Claws started as a fork of Sylpheed, and got packaged in debian
-we released the gtk2 port, which got packaged as sylpheed-claws-gtk2 in debian
-we changed the name to Claws Mail, to reflect the fact that we’re not syncing with Sylpheed anymore. It’s not yet in Debian due to the current freeze.
However, Claws Mail is more recent than Sylpheed-Claws, and you can find unofficial Debian and Ubuntu repositories at http://www.claws-mail.org/downloads.php
Hth 🙂
Colin (Claws Mail developer)

Colin was nice enough to answer a few other questions for me as well. I always appreciate it when I get tech support without even asking for it! Thanks again Colin.

After reading Colin’s comment, I did attempt to update to Claws-Mail unfortunately it didn’t work for me for a couple of reasons. First, when I went to the link Colin provided, I noticed that the Ubuntu packages are only i386 packages and I run AMD64. So I couldn’t update via Synaptic or Apt. I did download the source tarballs and I attempted to build it. I used checkinstall to create a .deb file (thanks Tuxicity’s Source!) and when I installed it, it sort of worked. For some reason it didn’t build with SSL support and I use GMail which requires it. It did seamlessly detect that I had a previous install of Sylpheed and it was able to use all of my previous setup – it just wouldn’t connect to GMail’s servers because of no SSL support.

I may see if I can read up on that and figure out why it didn’t work. I think I have the dependencies installed (as Sylpheed must use SSL in it’s build) so I’m not sure what I did wrong. I’m off to RTFM and perhaps rebuild/re-install.

Leave a Reply

