Microwave Biscuit

Even More Sylpheed-Claws/Claws-Mail

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 22, 2007

In my previous post I wrote that I couldn’t get Claws-Mail to work with SSL. I went back through the configuration logs and such and found that I didn’t have the SSL Headers installed. I did have OpenSSL, but not the required libraries. Once I corrected that I rebuild the .deb file, installed it and it works! Woot!
Next up was the “extra plugins” that I had downloaded. This was pretty cool because each plugin gets created/installed independently. So, rather than installing all of the possible plugins, I just built the one’s I used (RSSyl, Perl) and created .deb files for them. Installed them and now I have a complete “upgrade” of the Sylpheed-Claws install that I was using. Plus I have the satisfaction of building the whole thing from source tarballs. So, no more Slypheed for me. It’s now Claws-Mail 2.8.1!

Leave a Reply

