Microwave Biscuit

More on KDE and Gnome

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 19, 2007

I’m sure there are reasons, but why can’t I just use the Gnome programs I like and the KDE programs I like? Actually, that is what I do but I’m curious as to why I “shouldn’t” do it. What is the harm in running Kate under Gnome? Why can’t you use Liferea in KDE? I have done both things and it doesn’t seem to be a problem. Yes, Kate has a distinct KDE “feel” to it but so what? I think it’s a superior editor to Gedit so why not use it? I’m very curious to know why…

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Derek Buranen said, on March 19, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    The reasons for using a single environment:
    For me, it’s all about memory and cpu usage. On my P3 1.0 w/256 MB ram, it’s a lot nicer to not have to load both sets of GTK and QT libraries. This is also an issue if you have a smaller hard drives. I use stricly Kubuntu on this with Konqueror instead of Firefox. The machine flies!

    Now why I don’t:
    I have a faster machine, and I like Gnome. I hate how gedit doesn’t edit remote files very well so I can’t stay pure Gnome. On my P4 1.8 w/1GB RAM, I can run nautilus to an sftp share where I open a .php file with kate and all is well.

    Just my story. 🙂

  2. frenchninja said, on March 19, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    I don’t think there’s any real disapproval about using a mixture… not these days. From what I recall, that’s exactly the reason stuff was bundled into single packages like kde-libs – precisely for being able to run specific KDE apps without having to install the entire KDE (or Gnome, whatever) environment.

    I can’t really imagine using just one or the other. I’ll take Kasablanca and k3b over gftp and Gnomebaker anyday. Plus, I run Gnome but using Kwin instead of Metacity, because it’s so much smoother. Now *that’s* a mix 🙂


Leave a Reply

