Microwave Biscuit

Memory on the way

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 19, 2007

My PC is a bit sluggish so I ordered a “set” of RAM that should be here in a couple of days. I ended up ordering this from NewEgg as the price seems good and there were some pretty favorable reviews. While I presently have 1 Gig of RAM installed I figured ordering a new set of 1 Gig chips for 2 Gig total was a good move. My motherboard will only accept 2 Gig total and I wanted to get matching chips to avoid any conflicts. In most cases I would suspect 1 Gig is sufficient, however when I have Beryl running along with the rest of my usual programs (Swiftfox, Azureus, Evolution, etc) it definitely slows down. I’m hoping that 2 Gig will be enough to run Beryl full time. For now, I only run it occasionally.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. JCB said, on March 20, 2007 at 3:01 am

    I run many programs (including yours plus VMWARE) AND beryl or Compiz on my laptop with 1 gb also.
    I don’t notice any slow down and rather feel confortable with that amount of memory.

    I wouldn’t buy 2 Gb. I am very surprised by your experience.


Leave a Reply

