Microwave Biscuit

Update on OpenDNS

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 15, 2007

I posted yesterday about switching Ubuntu to OpenDNS. One of the things I didn’t consider was local network browsing. By eliminating the router’s DNS lookup I have removed the ability to browse my local network! I re-added the router into the DNS section of networking but I’m still having issues getting to the SMB shares I have setup off of my Ubuntu machine. When I attempt to connect to a Windows machine on my network I get “The Folder Contents can not be displayed” message. What I may end up doing is reverting the DNS settings on my Ubuntu machine and then change the DNS settings on the router.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Noah Treuhaft said, on March 16, 2007 at 11:26 am

    I’d very much like to figure out what’s going wrong here. To that end, please answer a few questions for me.

    1. What are your router’s brand and model?
    2. What software on Ubuntu do you use to browse your local network?
    3. How did you set up those SMB shares on your Ubuntu machine?
    4. What output does “grep hosts /etc/nsswitch.conf” produce on your Ubuntu machine?

  2. […] update on OpenDNS This morning I got a comment on my last post on OpenDNS from Noah at OpenDNS. Noah has asked me to provide him with some info on my issue with local […]


Leave a Reply

