Microwave Biscuit

Feeling Kinda Green

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 14, 2007

Here’s my latest desktop in all of it’s Beryl goodness. I’m going with a very green kinda theme right now. Every time I poke around in Beryl Manager I find some cool new thing. I just assigned a keyboard shortcut to “initiate cube” which pulls back into the cube and you can rotate it with your mouse. That’s what I did to get this screenshot.

desktop.png

Click on the image to bigify it.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Siberian said, on March 15, 2007 at 5:58 am

    Wow!!!!!!!

  2. DeviantDragon said, on April 11, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    Beryl is a fine tool, but once you start to use it, you’ll get easily bored. Beryl is perfectly made, but it has many various problems as of now. I found Compiz from novell (the proginal program which originated the Beryl fork) to me much more stable that Beryl. Also XGL won’t help if you’re looking for rock solid stability.

    Beryl and Compiz end up being what everyone DOESN’T want in a computer. They reduce your graphics card performance to almost a half, and consume as much ram as the rest of linux (in my box: 150mb idle, 300mb idle using beryl + XGL). Also if you have a laptop and work on battery regularly as I do, you’ll see that by using Beryl you’re pulling your processor to the limit, and will run out of battery double time. My 3 hour rated battery lasts no more than 50 minutes running Beryl.

    It’s fine to use beryl to show it’s cool, but it won’t make your computer better, or your linux knowledge bigger.


Leave a Reply

