Microwave Biscuit

Another Distro Test

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 14, 2007

Along with the “small distro” roundup that I did recently, I have a DVD with OpenSuSE 10.2 to play with. I’m in the process of installing it into a VM. Here’s the scoop so far:

  1. Insert CD, start VM up.
  2. It starts a graphical installation wizard with 2 choices – Basic or Advanced
  3. I choose basic and then modified the software selection adding in a couple of things
  4. I also chose KDE for the desktop environment. It seems that you can only pick one KDE or Gnome. Not that I care but I seem to remember Fedora allowing you to install both desktops. I could probably have modified the software selection to include Gnome but I don’t really need it.
  5. Total install size: 2.51 Gb – this seems like a lot being that I chose the defaults with KDE and added in console tools and web development
  6. Install time remaining: 30 minutes – we’ll see if it does in fact finish in that time.

After it finishes installing and I reboot I’ll play a bit and report back. For the record, I’m definitely not looking to replace Ubuntu – I just want to see what OpenSuSE is offering.

Leave a Reply

