Microwave Biscuit

Writing an RSS reader in Mono

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 13, 2007

Linux Format magazine had an article in the February 2007 issue that looked really tasty to me. While I’m early in writing (or should I say copying…) this project from the instructions in the article, so far I’m having success. It took me a few tries to get going (only due to my own lack of reading the complete article) but finally I have some working code. I’m going to continue to follow the instructions and see what I come up with.

Here’s my initial code (note: if you really want to do this, you’ll need to buy the magazine as there are several setup steps to get this working).


// project created on 3/13/2007 at 1:53 PM
using System;
using System.Xml;
namespace OneMoreTry
{
class MainClass
{
public static void Main(string[] args)
{
XmlDocument doc = new XmlDocument();
doc.Load("https://microwavebiscuit.wordpress.com/rss");
XmlNodeList items =doc.SelectNodes("//item");
foreach (XmlNode item in items){
Console.WriteLine(item.SelectSingleNode("title").InnerText);
Console.WriteLine(" " + item.SelectSingleNode("description").InnerText);
Console.WriteLine("");
}
}
}
}

Some of the “code” in the above apears to be getting chopped off a bit and my beautiful indentations are missing, but you get the idea…

What this does is output to the “Application Output” area of MonoDevelop a handful of my own website’s RSS feed. Here’s a selection of the output:

WordPress keeps track of what search terms led people to your site for you. As expected, most of the search terms that show up are linux related, usually Ubuntu, feisty, Beryl and Logitech as I’ve written quite a few posts on the subjects. In any case, yesterday 3 people got …

Small Distro Round Up
I posted that I had gotten a DVD (courtesy of Linux Magazine) with a handful of small distro’s on it. I have now booted the live CD version of each and here are my results:

Note: All testing was done on VMWare using a basic VM with 256MB RAM (Shouldn’t need …

All my base belong to Google
Google has done it again – I downloaded and installed Google’s browser sync for Firefox (works with Swiftfox too) and installed it on 3 different computers, one Linux, one Mac, and one PC. After a few moments it synchronized all of my Bookmarks, cookies, passwords, etc. Yes of course there …

Pretty cool!! I wrote some code, got some output! I’m going to continue writing the code as designed and then maybe even hack at it a bit to make something even cooler. I’m sure that this is pretty basic stuff for some folks but I’m pretty excited!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] my Mono RSS Reader Yesterday I wrote about creating an RSS Reader in Mono based on a tutorial in Linux Format Magazine. I had completed […]


Leave a Reply

