Microwave Biscuit

More Feisty Upgrade stuff

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on March 6, 2007

The attempted upgrade to Feisty is not going so well. I’m not forming an opinion yet as I’m attempting to upgrade a Virtual Machine built on 6.06. The fresh install of Feisty that I did in a virtual machine is still running great. I’ve done several updates and everything is still working just fine. The issues that I’ve had and continue to have are solely with the upgrade. First I attempted to do the upgrade from within Synaptic. I replaced all of my sources with “feisty” and just ran a full upgrade. It downloaded all of the packages but kept running into an issue with Metacity. I was getting a message that the package was trying to overwrite a man page. Did a little searching and found that I could “force” the install by using dpkg from the command line. Once I forced the install of metacity, I then attempted to do a full upgrade from the command line. I entered “sudo apt-get dist-upgrade” and let it do it’s thing. When it finished, I rebooted but couldn’t get X to start. I’m still pretty much stuck at that point. I started getting a message that there is a mis-match in driver versions, etc. So, I thought perhaps trying to install the VMWare tools might help. It didn’t – I couldn’t get VMWare tools to build correctly – I kept getting a message that the kernel headers weren’t the same as the running version. I did a bit more searching and found that perhaps my VMWare tools was out of date and couldn’t build. I downloaded and installed an update for VMWare last night. This morning, I attempted to install the VMWare tools and it worked. Apparently a more current version of VMWare tools is needed to build for the kernel version that Feisty is running. I still can’t get X to start however. It continues to crash on boot. Now I’m running another “dist-upgrade” and I’m getting a whole new set of packages including some revised X server packages so maybe it will work this time.

I’m really not upset, nor am I basing my opinion on this! Feisty is not final and should not be used on important systems at this point. It’s just for testing which is what I am doing! Additionally, attempting to run it in a virtualized environment adds a whole other layer of complexity. I’ll continue to report my results…

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Neil Greenwood said, on March 7, 2007 at 2:47 am

    I think it’s currently recommended to use update-manager (in the GNOME flavour of Ubuntu), rather than editing the source.list as you did. I’ve heard reports that you need to dist-upgrade at least twice, and possibly more than that, when you go the apt route as you have.

    Good luck!

  2. mocoloco said, on March 14, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    It sounds like you’re trying to upgrade from 6.06 (dapper) to 7.04 (feisty). You should first upgrade from dapper to edgy, then from edgy to feisty. I know the official documentation says that’s the correct way to do it, although I’m too lazy to look up a link right now. Of course now that you’ve attempted upgrading with feisty sources I don’t know if you can fix your current setup.

  3. microwavebiscuit said, on March 14, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    I appreciate the feedback. I’m sure I could, even should have done things differently. All that is behind me now however. It’s not really a big deal as this is a virtual machine that is not being used for anything. I’m hoping that I can assist the development of Feisty by keeping this machine “broken” and trying to fix it.


Leave a Reply

