Microwave Biscuit

Defective DRM

Posted in General by microwavebiscuit on March 6, 2007

Today I purchased a new DVD – Sacha Baron Cohen’s Borat which I was very much looking forward to watching this evening on my laptop. I unwrapped it and put it in the DVD drive of my almost brand new Dell Latitude D820. The drive made all kinds of weird seeking/spinning noises and then wouldn’t play. I ejected it and tried again but it still doesn’t work. I’ve had this happen before with commercial DVDs on this laptop so I’m assuming that one of the copy protection schemes on certain DVDs won’t allow the movie to play on this laptop. It’s incredibly frustrating to purchase a DVD and then not have the ability to play it. I’m traveling this week so I can’t just pop it in my home DVD player and watch it. It almost makes me want to return the disk and get my money back then see if I can’t find a download of it somewhere. This is what DRM does to me – next time there’s a new DVD that I want while I’m traveling I’ll skip buying it because of the uncertainty of being able to play it on my laptop.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael Heukels said, on March 8, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    I’ve had the same problems with discs from Blockbuster…and only with my laptops.


Leave a Reply

