Microwave Biscuit

Feisty Updates.

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on February 27, 2007

All of the 380 updates required were installed. Upon reboot everything still works! Not that I am surprised – just pleased. The couple of issues I have right now are:

1. After updates it told me that I needed a reboot. I clicked on the taskbar icon that shows up after system updates that require a reboot. As happened after install, the screen flickered and it looked like it was going to reboot but it didn’t actually. I had to click on the “power” icon and select reboot. Not a biggy and I’m sure that’ll be fixed.
2. Sound – being that I installed Feisty in VMWare, who really knows if sound will work or not. It doesn’t. Could be VMWare and/or Feisty. When I attempted to “test” the sound system, the Gnome sound panel crashed.
3. VMWare tools – I wasn’t able to get VMWare tools installed. It seems as though there are several kernels installed and there are several sets of kernel headers. I attempted to build the VMWare tools using the same kernel sources that correspond to the running kernel (2.6.20-9-generic) but VMWare said that they were different somehow. Could also be VMWare and not the fault of Feisty but I don’t know for sure.

I haven’t really felt that it’s terribly different than 6.10 out of the box. Here are a couple of new things that I’ve found so far:

1. Inhibit applet. If you add this to your panel it lets you click on it to enable/disable power saving features. This is definitely not available in 64-bit 6.10, don’t know if it is available in other versions or if it’s brand new.
2. There is a preference to “Enable Desktop Effects”. So far, all that happens when I click “Enable” is that my X session restarts. Could be due to the fact that I have not installed the VMWare tools and the display adapter selected doesn’t support it.
3. Control Center – this is a much better replacement for the older control center. It has the look of the enhanced Gnome menu that’s available. I like it. It will definitely feel cozy for Windows users as it has the look/feel of the Windows control panel.

I’m sure that I’ll find other things as I mess around but so far it’s been behaving pretty good and I have no complaints.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. iGama said, on February 28, 2007 at 4:19 am

    Some time ago i made a post talking about some of the new thinks in Feisty:

    http://www.formatds.org/feisty-fawn-part-2/

    Hope you find them interesting.

    See ya 😉


Leave a Reply

