Microwave Biscuit

KRegExpEditor

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on February 26, 2007

Another tool that I use often is KRegExpEditor. What this allows you to do is to put in some sample text and then write a regular expression to see what matches. I’m not a regexp wiz so I find it helpful to plug in a sample of the text/log/etc that I’m going to be searching through and then attempt my regexp. It does have some handy tools for building regexps using drag and drop style input but I generally write my own. I’m sure some people can write regexps in their sleep but for those of us that are not so great this tool comes in handy. I don’t know if there is a gnome equivalent or not. If I find one, I’ll post it to.

Leave a Reply

