Microwave Biscuit

Ubuntu Ultimate Edition

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on February 24, 2007

I found this recently (forgot the source) –Ubuntu Software – Ubuntu Ultimate Edition. This appears to be a more customized distribution of Ubuntu that contains many of the features that folks enable/install via Automatix, etc. Looking at the list of additional things installed, many of them are things that I have found useful myself. Being that I already have my PC installed and configured the way I want it and the fact that I run 64-bit version (Ultimate Edition appears 32-bit only) I won’t install it. However, it does look appealing as a base install for people that are looking for a complete install that includes flash, proprietary codecs, etc. as opposed to having the base Ubuntu install and using Automatix and the like. I would be interested to hear from anyone who has installed this edition.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rightoutofthebox said, on February 28, 2007 at 12:48 am

    Hi. I’ve found these Ubuntu ultimate editions to be great on my desktop computers! I’m a windows convert now! PCLinux 2.2 “final” beta is also an awesome linux distro for desktops if you don’t like to fiddle much. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

