Microwave Biscuit

Follow up on offline blog tools

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on February 24, 2007

Earlier I wrote a post on offline blog tools and did a comparison of 3 different programs that I found in my repositories. My general feeling was that I needed to do more testing and that there wasn’t a clear winner. Over the past several days I’ve spent a little time playing around and I have decided that “Drivel” is the winner. It’s not perfect and I honestly do most of my posting online from the WordPress dashboard, however if I had to pick a winner this is it.

Here’s what would make it perfect for me:

1. A toolbar. Having all of the formatting options (all options really) in different menus is not nearly as easy as clicking a button.
2. Ability to select more than one category. It’s limited to a single category which means that if my post covers more than one topic I’m forced to go edit the post online and select the other category(s) which kind of defeats the purpose of having an offline blog tool.
3. Some ability to include scripts or something. It would be really cool if you could automatically include what you are listening to in Amarok or the output of the fortune command, etc in the bottom of a post.

While these are not major usability issues they are just a few things that would go further towards making this program perfect for me.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. BD said, on February 25, 2007 at 4:34 am

    Having being disappointed at the state of blog clients, I’ve been forced to use the Performancing extension for Firefox.

    The surprising thing is, just a Firefox extension does so much more than what available blog clients in Linux offer.

    I hope this situation improves. We need something like Windows LIve Writer (or BlogDesk) for Linux.

  2. john said, on August 5, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    i’ve tried drivel and it looks like it can’t connect to blogger.com.. other blogging platform looks fine.


Leave a Reply

