Microwave Biscuit

Ubuntu – It just works

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on February 23, 2007

I am obviously a big fan of Ubuntu. One of the many reasons that I like it is that generally speaking, it just works. Last night I took a few pictures with my Panasonic Lumix digital camera and I wanted to upload them to my pc. I had never connected this camera to this PC so I was wondering what would happen. I plugged in the USB cable, turned on the camera and Ubuntu popped up a window – Camera Found – Import Pictures? (or something along those lines). I clicked on import and it read in my pictures. It even created a folder based on the date/time so that I have a “roll” folder. I understand that this is how computers are supposed to work and yes, if I had plugged it into a Windows PC I probably would have gotten a similar result. However, having used Linux for many years and dealt with a myriad of hardware related issues I’m so very impressed with Ubuntu’s ability to detect and manage hardware. Situations like this are what make mainstream acceptance of Linux that much easier. Your everyday non-geek PC user wants to be able to just have things work without building things from sources or writing drivers. Of course I fall into the “geek” category of computer users and I do get some satisfaction out of building something from sources, etc. but if Linux is going to go further into the mainstream it needs to be able to “just work” out of the box too.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Me said, on March 10, 2007 at 5:04 am

    Having been using Ubuntu for the first time EVER, today.. And having been sitting here with it for the past , look at that, 13 hours now… I can honestly say that the “it just works” factor is simply.. well… no, no it doesn’t. I think it’d be great if an operating system would actually operate the system when it’s loaded instead of leaving the user high and dry with functions, commands and concepts that they are somehow supposed to magically know. I’ve never struggled to get something to work for so long and gotten so painfully no where.

    I am writing this from a Windows machine. Perish the thought Ubuntu recognize wireless cards, screen resolutions or hell, it’s flat out contents for that matter.

    Today I figured out why Ubuntu has such a small fraction of the market. And it’ll stay there until it actually becomes reasonable to use.

  2. microwavebiscuit said, on March 10, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    I’m really sorry to hear that you are having difficulty. I’m happy to help out if you need assistance. Let me know if I can do anything for you.


Leave a Reply

