Microwave Biscuit

Converting flac files to ogg

Posted in Linux, Music, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on February 23, 2007

This post by Eclectic – Converting flac files to ogg « Eclectic – seems innocent enough – just a tip on how to encode music files from flac to ogg. However this brings up a little bit of controversy. I have tons of shn and flac files as previously noted. I get them predominantly via e-tree which is a bit torrent tracker for “trade friendly” artists. They are very careful to not include artists that have any issues with having their music traded and they also do not allow any commercial or copyrighted material. In any case, I often find in the information file of a recording something like this:

*****************************

DON’T CONVERT TO LOSSY FORMAT

*****************************

NOT FOR SALE

*****************************

I can certainly get behind the “not for sale” part. If an artist allows people to record their live performances and trade the music people should respect that. I’m sure that some of you have purchased “bootlegs” or “imports” at some stores and basically that is ripping off a lot of people. First of all, the artist doesn’t get any money out of the deal, and secondly the person that recorded it probably didn’t intend on having it show up in a record store for sale. I do doubt that this particular warning in an info file would prevent someone from selling it, however as I said I’m behind keeping it not for sale.

The “Don’t convert to lossy format” part is what kind of gets to me. I do always keep the original flac and or shn files so that when I share the music it retains it’s original state, however even if my iPod did play .flac (which I don’t think it does) I would certainly not keep it in a flac format. For those of you who don’t know, flac stands for free lossless audio codec. Flac files are not nearly as big a WAV files (which are uncompressed) but they are way bigger than ogg or mp3 files. I always convert the files to a “lossy” format before moving them to my iPod.

I’ll be posting another post on the process I use to convert flac and shn later.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chris B. said, on March 16, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    I think it just means don’t DISTRIBUTE it in a lossy format. Nobody cares what you do on your hard drive.


Leave a Reply

