Microwave Biscuit

System Events of the day

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on February 22, 2007

Previously I mentioned that I use logcheck to peruse the system logs and e-mail me anomalies. It often sends me notes about odd occurrences. Here’s a note from today:


System Events
=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Feb 22 11:34:01 my-pc nss_wins[13110]: gethostby*.getanswer: asked for "btack.info.nyud.net IN AAAA", got type "39"
Feb 22 11:34:01 my-pc nss_wins[13110]: gethostby*.getanswer: asked for "btack.info.nyud.net IN AAAA", got type "39"
Feb 22 11:34:01 my-pc nss_wins[13110]: gethostby*.getanswer: asked for "btack.info.nyud.net IN A", got type "39"
Feb 22 12:02:09 my-pc gconfd (root-23336): starting (version 2.16.0), pid 23336 user 'root'
Feb 22 12:02:09 my-pc gconfd (root-23336): Resolved address "xml:readonly:/etc/gconf/gconf.xml.mandatory" to a read-only configuration source at position 0
Feb 22 12:02:09 my-pc gconfd (root-23336): Resolved address "xml:readwrite:/root/.gconf" to a writable configuration source at position 1
Feb 22 12:02:09 my-pc gconfd (root-23336): Resolved address "xml:readonly:/etc/gconf/gconf.xml.defaults" to a read-only configuration source at position 2
Feb 22 12:02:09 my-pc gconfd (root-23336): Resolved address "xml:readonly:/var/lib/gconf/debian.defaults" to a read-only configuration source at position 3
Feb 22 12:02:09 my-pc gconfd (root-23336): Resolved address "xml:readonly:/var/lib/gconf/defaults" to a read-only configuration source at position 4

Two things of interest. First is the wins note about gethostby*.getanswer. It seems that those messages are happening as a result of Azureus running. Somehow there are unrecognized requests being set. I’m not really happy about it, but searching Google didn’t produce much useful information. Secondly is notes regarding gconfd. Honestly I have NO IDEA what is causing that but I get it just about every day. It doesn’t appear to be an error but I’d like to make it stop.

Any hints/help is appreciated.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Christian said, on February 27, 2008 at 5:15 am

    Try setting the ignore-level in /etc/logcheck/logcheck.conf to “workstation”. /etc/logcheck/ignore.d.workstation has rules for gconf.


Leave a Reply

