Microwave Biscuit

Linux and Windows

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on February 21, 2007

There’s a nicely written article on some of the reasons to select Linux over Windows at Ziggy’s of the world – here: Why do i prefer Linux over Windows « Ziggy’s of the world

I agree with many of the author’s points which is why Ubuntu Linux is my preferred computing environment. In addition to the points the author makes, one of the things that I find supremely satisfying is to “roll my own” whatevers. What I mean by that is that if something doesn’t work the way I want it to, given the right set of skills I can make it different. That’s the “open source” thing. You can install and/or get the sources to all of the programs you use and then tweak away. While I’m not a great coder or anything, I can certainly “hack” into the source code of anything and make changes and/or updates to make the software I use better for me. If it’s really useful I can also then contribute that source code back to the community.

One other thing that I find really useful and nearly impossible in Windows is command line mailing. I can very easily set up a script that does a handful of things and then mail myself the results and logs. Not so easy to do in Windows and certainly not “native” functionality.

Leave a Reply

