Microwave Biscuit

Aptitude, synaptic, apt

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on February 21, 2007

Interesting post at Eclectic about using Aptitude instead of Synaptic or apt – here:HOWTO: use aptitude instead of synaptic and why. « Eclectic. The author points out that aptitude remembers dependent packages and removes them when removing the original package. Last night I was playing with Yakuake and Tilda and I decided to keep Yakuake but remove Tilda. The problem is that Tilda has a dependency that I didn’t previously have installed (liboconfuse0) and when I installed Tilda via apt, it notified me of it and also installed it so that Tilda would work. However, when I removed Tilda it didn’t automatically remove libconfuse0 which is presumably no longer needed in my system. Apparently (I say apparently because I haven’t tried it) had I installed Tilda via aptitude it would have removed libconfuse0 as well. Now, when I did remove it via apt, I was notified that libconfuse0 was left over and that I should run apt-get autoremove which I did. I’m not sure if aptitude does a better job of handling this or if just running apt-get autoremove from time to time is sufficient. I’ll have to do some more research and report back.

Leave a Reply

