Microwave Biscuit

Offline Blog Tools in Linux

Posted in Linux by microwavebiscuit on February 19, 2007

As you can probably tell based on the test posts below, I am testing out 3 different options for Offline Blog Tools. Why 3? Well, Synaptic only seemed to list 3 when I searched it so while there may be other tools available (please leave comments!) I have installed 3 and here are my immediate thoughts:

  • First Up is Gnome-Blog which sits in the taskbar as an applet.
    • Features:
      • Sits in the taskbar -great for quick posts
      • I was able to immediately connect to this blog. Didn’t need to read a help file/man page or google search
    • Drawbacks
      • Doesn’t seem very full featured
      • Formatting appears limited to Bold and Italic
  • Next is BloGTK 1.1
    • Features:
      • Most features readily available
      • Major format choices support
      • Ability to insert links, images
    • Drawbacks:
      • Not as straightforward to connect to WordPress -need to use Movable Type API
      • After creating my test post with it, the test post is still in the window even after publishing.
      • Spell Check doesn’t appear to be automatic
  • Last up is Drivel
    • Features:
      • Great name – that’s worth a lot
      • Gets the most recent posts to the blog
      • After posting sets up a new blank window for another post
      • Spell check as you type
    • Drawbacks:
      • No toolbar that I can find – everything is in a menu
      • Had to read the help to configure – plus, the help wasn’t complete so I had to go to the developer’s website and read through archived posts to figure out how to make it work.

So, now I guess I need a verdict. My verdict is: Needs more testing. Sorry for the lack of conclusion but I think I need to play with all three a bit more. I’m leaning towards BloGTK and I think it would be the winner if it “reset” after posting so that I could create a new entry. Perhaps it’s user error so far.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] up on offline blog tools Earlier I wrote a post on offline blog tools and did a comparison of 3 different programs that I found in my repositories. My general feeling […]

  2. Drivel Sources « Microwave Biscuit said, on February 25, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    […] Over the past few days I’ve been posting on using Drivel and other offline blog tools see here and here and I commented that there were a few things missing from Drivel that I would like. Last […]

  3. […] found an entry by a fellow named “Microwave Biscuit” that helped me to get BloGTK working. I don’t think that’s the name his mother gave […]

  4. Beginner Linux Tutorial said, on October 26, 2008 at 4:19 am

    I’ve been looking for a Linux blog editor, but can’t seem to find one with options I need. Do any of these also allow you to add data for the “all in one seo pack” plugin ? To add title, descriptions, and keywords ? For wordpress blog anyways.

    I have looked around and all seem to just support the “stock blog” with no plugins. but with all in one seo pack there is an added section below, you have your standard:
    title
    post
    tags
    category
    then there is an added section from the “all in one seo pack” plugin:
    title
    description
    keywords

    which is added into the posts to add title tag, meta description, meta keywords section. This way you have control over what the search engines show when someone searches, instead of the search engines just taking the first 155 characters of your post and using for a description.

  5. Paul said, on March 21, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    ummm how bout giving scribefire a shot


Leave a Reply

