Microwave Biscuit

Building a Backup Server

Posted in apple, Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on May 26, 2008

I’m building a mini-server to backup all of my network pc’s here at home. Things I’ve done so far:

1. Installed Xubuntu – I intended on installing Ubuntu server but couldn’t get it to boot. I downloaded the image and verified it – burned it on 2 different disks but no luck. So, I grabbed an Xubuntu disk I had laying around and installed it. I figure I can remove some of the extraneous stuff when I am complete.

2. Setup OpenSSH, SMB, etc. Wow, what a task. Thank god for the Ubuntu forums – specifically the tutorials section.

3. Followed these tutorials:

Setup Samba first:
HOWTO: Setup Samba peer-to-peer with Windows

Start rsync backups (so far I’m backing up my “main” Ubuntu PC and an Apple. 3 Windows machines to be setup to do backups too.
HOWTO: Backup nightly via rsync – Ubuntu Forums

Finally – setup “fake” raid for new big drives:
HOWTO: Linux Software Raid using mdadm

This all started as part of a project that I was inspired by in Linux Format Magazine which in the May issue had an article about building a media server/NAS using Ubuntu. It just so happens that I had a spare motherboard, case, power supply – all I really needed was a few big ass drives. Now I’m in the final stages of setting up the RAID array using RAID1 which is mirroring for hopefully fail-proof backups.

So far the only hiccups I’ve had were in getting the OS installed using the Ubuntu Server image.

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Greg said, on December 2, 2008 at 8:59 am

    If you’d like to add some more capabilities to your backup server, I’d welcome feedback/suggestions on my setup here: http://gregnbaker.com/blog/2008/04/family-server-setup/
    Thanks, and thanks for the link about Software RAID!
    G

  2. John said, on November 23, 2009 at 5:45 am

    I just setup TurnKey File Server and it was a breeze…

    http://www.turnkeylinux.org/fileserver

    J.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

