Microwave Biscuit

Beagle and desktop search on Ubuntu

Posted in Linux, ubuntu by microwavebiscuit on February 22, 2007

Batteries not included posts about Desktop Search here: Beagle and desktop search on Ubuntu « Batteries Not Included which brings me back to my previous post about using locate. In that post I talked about using locate to configure and use Yakuake. If I use Beagle to search for yakuake it returns only one result which is the yakuake executable itself. I don’t find that terribly useful, in that I was looking for configuration files, documentation, etc. and I wanted to see where all of that stuff was.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Will Farrington said, on February 22, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    Beagle is designed to index personal files – not the whole filesystem.

    If you want it to index all documentation and such, you’ll have to set it to index / and give it time to index everything (very CPU intensive).

  2. microwavebiscuit said, on February 22, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    Thanks for the tip! I guess I’m still not sure why I would use Beagle over locate though.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

